Members Only  |  Contact Us
Twitter   Facebook
AFMR Endowment
National Council
Back to Committees | Back to National Council
Richard W. McCallum, MD, Journal of Investigative Medicine
Richard W. McCallum, MD
Journal of Investigative Medicine
Richard W. McCallum, MD

Current Position: Professor of Medicine & Founding Chair, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology.

Education: The University of Queensland and the Queensland Medical School Brisbane, Australia, l963 1968, Graduated Medical School l968, M.B., B.S.

Awards and Honors:
  • Fellow of the American College of Physicians (FACP) – 1976
  • Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (FRACP) – 1978
  • Fellow of the American College of Gastroenterology (FACG) – 1978
  • Endowed Chair: Paul Janssen Professor of Medicine, University of Virginia Health Sciences Center, l988 – 1996.
  • Elected to American Society for Clinical Investigation, 1989
  • Board of Trustees, American College of Gastroenterology, 1984 – 1990
  • President, Virginia GI Society, 1990 – 1995
  • Moreton Award for Original Research in Medicine - Presented by the Southern Medical Association in 1996.
  • President, Southern Society for Clinical Investigation, 1997 – 1998
  • President, International Society of Electrogastrography, 1997 – 1999 and from 2012 –
  • President, Kansas GI Society, 1998 – 2005
  • President, Southern Gut Club, Southern Society of Clinical Investigation, 1989 –
  • Cure Award for Diabetes Research presented by Kansas City Diabetes Association, 2007 –
  • Recipient of Founder’s Medal – Presented by Southern Society for Clinical Investigation, February 2009 – Association of Professors of Medicine 2009.
  • Fellowship in American Gastroenterological Association, AGAF, January 2015
  • 2015 Chancellor’s Council Distinguish Research Award for Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – Presented by Chancellor of Texas Tech, Robert Duncan, President in Lubbock, TX, February 13, 2015
  • Award for Service to El Paso Community and El Paso County Medical Society – 2016
  • Texas Medical Association Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Academic Medicine – April 2016
  • Southern Society for Clinical Investigation (SSCI) Mentor of the Year Award – November 2016
  • Washington University Medical Center Resident/Fellow Alumni Achievement Award- December 2016.
  • Honorary Professor at University of Queensland, Brisbane Australia by appointment of Provost and Senior Vice President of the University in the Department of Medicine and Department of Health and Behavioral Sciences - July 2017.
  • Laureate Award, American College of Physicians, Texas Chapter, November 2017.
  • The Tinsley Harrism Award – for best Research paper published in the American Journal of Medical Sciences in 2017; presented at the annual meeting of the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation, New Orleans, Louisiana, in February 23, 2018.
  • 2018 Neurogastroenterology & Motility (NGM) Section Research Mentor Award – presented by
  • American Gastroenterology Association Institute Council at their annual meeting in Washington, DC, June 5, 2018.
  • Henry Christian Award, American Federation for Medical Research, Southern Society for Clinical
  • Investigation, February 2019 and 2020.

Current AFMR position: Ex-Officio Editor-in-Chief: Journal of Investigative Medicine

Term: 7/19/19 - 12/31/22

Quick Links
About AFMR
Meetings & Education
Get Involved
Members Only