Members Only  |  Contact Us
Twitter   Facebook
AFMR Foundation

2004 Southern Regional Meeting Photos

The Southern Section of the AFMR (SAFMR), the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation (SSCI), the Southern Society for Pediatric Research (SSPR), the Southern Society for General Internal Medicine (SGIM), the Ambulatory Pediatric Association (APA), and the American Physiological Society (APS) met for their annual meeting February 12 -14, 2004 at the Hotel Inter-Continental in New Orleans. The was a significant increase in the number of meeting participants and in the number of abstract submissions in 2004.

Capitalizing on the success of last year's Amgen Nephrology Young Investigator Forum two additional programs, the Amgen Rheumatology Young Investigator Forum and the Aventis Endocrinology/Metabolism Scholar Program were incorporated into the 2004 meeting. These events and workshops on Manuscript Preparation, Design of Clinical Investigation, Transforming Teaching into Scholarship, and Introduction to Molecular Techniques: basics of gene regulation and expression analyses received extremely high marks from the Young Investigators. These programs allowed us to significantly increase the amount of our travel awards this year.

The Joint Plenary Session on Saturday February 14th was well-attended and highlighted by a keynote address by Dr. Thomas Ganz from the David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA. Dr. Ganz who has made a number of seminal discoveries pertaining to antimicrobrial peptides discussed the biology of defensins, and introduced the audience to hepcidin. This peptide, a recent discovery by his laboratory, plays critical roles in ironmetabolism, and in the pathogenesis of hemochromatosis.

During the Meeting, the membership elected Dr. Jim Oates, from the Medical University of South Carolina, as the Chairman-elect of the SAFMR and Dr. John Arthur, also from the Medical University of South Carolina, as the Secretary/Treasurer. Dr. Shanthi Sitaraman, from Emory University School of Medicine, and Dr. Sharma Prabhakar, from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, were both elected by the membership to be Regional Councilors. At the end of the meeting, Dr. Seth Berney from Louisiana State University in Shreveport stepped up as Chairman and thanked Dr. James Fleckenstein for his service as Chairman over the past year.

Quick Links
About AFMR
Meetings & Education
Get Involved
Members Only