Members Only  |  Contact Us
Twitter   Facebook
AFMR Foundation

Contact your Congressperson
House of Representatives

Since 2010, the AFMR has been a member of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB), a coalition of 30 scientific societies representing over 125,000 members. The organization is recognized globally for promoting research and education in the biological and biomedical sciences. Legislators, federal agencies, and the media turn to FASEB for information on policies related to biomedical science and engineering.

FASEB's elected leaders and staff regularly meet with members of Congress, congressional staff, and federal agency officials to provide the perspective of the membership on a wide range of issues. These positions are developed by the working scientists representing FASEB member societies and reflect the views of a broad cross-section of the research community.

AFMR Representatives to FASEB:

Board of Directors Robert J. Freishtat, MD, MPH
Board of Directors Advisor MingMing Ning, MD, MMSc
Executive Officers Advisory Committee Elissa Klein, Executive Director
Finance Committee Iuliana Shapira, MD
Publications & Communications Committee Yutong Zhao, MD, PhD
Science Policy Committee Sharma S. Prabhakar, MD, MBA
Animals in Research and Education Subcommittee Sharma S. Prabhakar, MD, MBA
Breakthroughs in Bioscience Subcommittee Sharma S. Prabhakar, MD, MBA
Clinical and Translational Research Subcommittee Dawn B. Davis, MD, PhD
Kimberly Payne, PhD
Kathyrn G. Schuff, MD, MCR
Data Science and Informatics Subcommittee Richard A. Galbraith, MD, PhD
Research Enterprise Evaluation Subcommittee Iuliana Shapira, MD
Vijay Shivaswamy, MD
Amir A. Zeki, MD, MAS
Training and Career Opportunities Subcommittee Florence Rothenberg, MS, MD
Amir A. Zeki, MD, MAS
Excellence in Science Award Committee Peter Wiernik, MD
Science Research Conferences Advisory Committee MingMing Ning, MD, MMSc
FASEB JOURNAL Editorial Board Sharma S. Prabhakar, MD, MBA
MingMing Ning, MD, MMSc

Also since 2010, the AFMR has been a member of Research!America. Together, we increase public and policymaker awareness of the health and economic benefits of medical research, and build a strong base of citizen support for more research and innovation.

NIH Career Development Awards
The AFMR was the leading advocate for the Clinical Research Enhancement Act of 1999, legislated by Congress to create NIH funding through Career Development K awards, the Loan Repayment Program, and other funding for clinical investigators.

Read AFMR's newsletter, Insights, for weekly updates on public policy and clinical research funding.

Quick Links
About AFMR
Meetings & Education
Get Involved
Members Only